General Event
Book Launch & Reading - David Adams Richards' Novel “Mary Cyr”
Apr 9, 2018 7:00 PM-8:30 PM, Sir James Dunn Hall - Off-Campus Student Lounge, Fredericton, NB, Canada
Please join us for the launch of David Adams Richards’ new novel, Mary Cyr.

A new novel from a Canadian literary legend--this time with an extraordinary and unforgettable woman protagonist who is sure to become one of the great characters in our literature.

Mary Cyr opens in Mexico, just as a disaster strikes a small town: a coal-mine has collapsed, with thirteen men trapped inside. Less than forty-eight hours later, the authorities summarily decide to abandon all hope of finding survivors and seal the mine entrance--willfully oblivious to the half-dozen souls still breathing below ground. Shortly after that, a thirteen-year-old Mexican boy, Victor, is discovered dead in the hotel room of a Canadian visitor--a 45-year-old woman, and heiress to a vast fortune, Mary Cyr.

Thus begins this shocking, brilliant and compelling novel--a late-career tour de force by one of our most unique and powerful writers. In his last couple of novels, David Adams Richards has widened the scope of his vision and his world, taking us into far-flung countries and lives even as his beloved territory of New Brunswick's Miramichi remains his touchstone, the spot to which all his stories return. In Mary Cyr, the unwinding tale will take us from a harsh jail cell in Mexico, where Mary Cyr is imprisoned, deep into Canadian police officer John Delano's past, and even further into the murky depths of a wealthy New Brunswick family whose ties to mining, newspapers and a host of other interests lead to the highest corridors of power. At the heart of this maelstrom lies a woman who is compromised and confused, but also poignant, wounded and well-intentioned: the beautiful and tragic Mary Cyr.

Richards is one of only three writers to earn the Governor General’s Literary Award for fiction and non-fiction.  He was nominated for a Governor General’s Literary Award five times, and has won the Canadian Authors Association Award, the Alden Nowlan Award for Excellence in English Literary Arts and the Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award. Mercy Among the Children, a book called a “masterpiece in the tradition of Tolstoy, Camus and Melville,” won the Giller Prize.  The Friends of Meager Fortune won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.  A work of non-fiction, God Is., was #1 on the Globe and Mail non-fiction religion best-seller list.

He attended STU in the early 1970s and received an honorary degree from the university in 1990. More recently, he co-chaired its Centenary Celebrations, was a featured speaker at the National Congress of the Humanities when it was hosted at STU and UNB, was Artist in Residence and was the Irving Chair in Journalism.

Mary Cyr is published by Penguin Random House Canada.


Maps:

Contact Us
For more information on this event, please contact: